If you think someone else has been using your AirPods, this post will show you if you can see if they are using your AirPods.
It is not possible to see if someone else is using your AirPods. If you have lost your AirPods the person can simply reset your AirPods and pair them with their own devices. It is only possible for AirPods to pair with a device when they are in pairing mode and people can’t connect to your AirPods when you are using them yourself unless their device has previously been paired with your AirPods.
If people have previously paired with your AirPods, you can forget the connection by resetting your AirPods. To do this, put your AirPods in the case, open the lid and hold the button until the light flashes orange then white.
Can I see if someone else is using my AirPods?
There is not really any way to tell if someone else is using your AirPods.
If someone else tries to connect to your AirPods while you are using them, it should not be possible for that person to do it unless your AirPods are in pairing mode.
The only way for AirPods to be paired with a device is if they are in the charging case, the lid is open, the button is pressed on the case putting them into pairing mode and you click to connect to the AirPods on your phone’s Bluetooth settings.
If you do not click on the AirPods from your Bluetooth settings, it will not be possible for someone else’s AirPods to connect to your phone.
However, if someone steals AirPods and the case or they have access to another case, the AirPods can be reset.
When AirPods are reset, they lose their connection with all paired devices and can no longer be tracked through the “Find My” app.
Then, the AirPods will be like an unused set of AirPods and can be paired with any device and paired with a new iCloud account.
Something else to be aware of is that, your Find My app will only update the location of your AirPods when they have power, they are not in the case and they are within range of your iPhone.
Can other people connect to my AirPods?
The only way for other people to connect to your AirPods is if their device has already been paired with your AirPods.
The only way to pair a device with AirPods is to connect to the AirPods while they are in pairing mode.
If someone else has previously paired their device with your AirPods, you can stop the connection by resetting your AirPods.
To do this, put your AirPods in the case, open the lid and hold the button until the light on the case flashes orange then white.
Read more: why do my AirPods screech or squeal?
How to stop other people from using my AirPods?
To stop other people from using your AirPods, if they have previously been able to pair their device with your AirPods, you can reset your AirPods which will cause your AirPods to forget all of their previous pairings.
To do this you put your AirPods in the case, open the lid and hold the button until the light flashes orange then white.