Skip to Content

How To Disconnect YouTube From TV

The YouTube TV app brings everything you love about YouTube right to your TV, whether installed directly on a smart TV or a streaming media player, such as a Roku Player, Google Chromecast, or Apple TV. However, many people have wondered how to disconnect their YouTube accounts from a TV! 

To disconnect your YouTube account from a TV, you’ll need to sign out or remove your account. This can be done on the device the app is installed or remotely from a secure browser. By disconnecting your YouTube account from a TV, you can prevent unwanted people from accessing your account or data.

If you want to disconnect your YouTube account from a TV, we’ll break down everything you should know! Once we’ve explained how to sign out or remove your account from a device using that device, we’ll explain the steps to remotely disconnect your account. We’ll also discuss how you can unlink all devices connected to a particular TV or streaming media player! 

How To Disconnect YouTube From TV (Using The TV)

You can follow the simple steps in this section if you wish to disconnect your YouTube account from the app installed on your TV. With these steps, you’ll need access to the TV you’re signing out of. If you don’t have access to the TV on which the YouTube app is installed, you can proceed to the following section of this article. 

Google recommends signing out or disconnecting your YouTube account after signing into YouTube on a TV that you do not own. If you’re selling your smart TV or streaming media player, such as a Chromecast, Roku Player, Fire TV, or Apple TV, you should also sign out of YouTube. Ultimately, this prevents other people from accessing your YouTube account and personal data. 

Step One: Open The YouTube App On Your TV 

Firstly, you’ll need to open the YouTube app on the TV you wish to disconnect the account from.

It doesn’t matter if the YouTube app is installed on the smart TV itself or a TV box, such as Roku, Chromecast, or Apple TV; these steps will work with all versions of the YouTube TV app. 

Step Two: Select The Menu On The Left 

Once you’ve launched the YouTube app on the television, you’ll need to select the menu on the left-hand side of the screen.

Regardless of which version of the YouTube TV app you have installed, this menu will always be on the screen’s left side. 

Step Three: Click On Your Profile Picture 

You will now see your profile picture and username at the top of the left-hand side menu. To open the accounts page where you can disconnect your YouTube account from the TV, you need to click on your profile picture using the remote control. 

Step Four: Sign Out Of Your YouTube Account 

After you’ve navigated to your accounts page, you’ll see an option to “Sign Out” or “Remove Account.” By signing out, your account will remain on the TV, but you must log in again to use your account.

By removing your account, your account will no longer appear on the TV app. Clicking on one of these options will effectively disconnect your YouTube account from the TV app, preventing other people from accessing your account. 

How To Disconnect YouTube From TV (Without The TV)

In the previous section, we discussed how to disconnect your YouTube account from a smart TV using the app installed on the television. However, many people have wondered how to disconnect their account from a YouTube app installed on a TV they don’t have access to. 

To remotely sign out of your YouTube account on any device, you need access to a device with an Internet connection. You’ll be able to sign out remotely via a secure browser. If you wish to remotely disconnect your YouTube account from a TV, you can follow these steps! 

Step One: Go To Your Google Device Activity Tab 

On any device with access to a secure browser, you should open the Device Activity tab of your Google Account.

If you’ve previously logged into your Google Account on this device, you won’t be asked to sign in again. However, if you’re using a new device or browser, you might be asked to log in.

Step Two: Select The Device You Want To Sign Out Of 

Once you’ve opened the Device Activity page, you’ll see a list of devices that you are logged into, including smartphones, tablets, and televisions.

If you previously logged into YouTube on TV, you’ll see this device listed here. While TVs may appear as Linux or Android devices, you’ll see a TV icon and “YouTube on TV” in the description panel. 

Step Three: Click On “Sign Out” 

After scrolling through the list to find the TV you wish to disconnect your YouTube account from, you must click on it. A panel will now pop up with more information, including the first sign-in date and recent activity.

To disconnect your account from the TV app, click on “Sign Out.” You’ll be asked to confirm this, which will be followed by a pop-up when you’ve successfully logged out.

How To Switch YouTube Accounts On TV 

If you don’t want to sign out of your YouTube account but simply want to add another account, you can switch the account you’re using. To do this, you can follow these two simple steps! 

Step One: Open YouTube TV App 

When you open the YouTube app on your smart TV or streaming media player, you’ll notice it opens on the “Who’s Watching” screen. If you want to switch the account you’re using; you can do that from this screen! 


Step Two: Click “Add New Account” or “Use Guest Mode” 

There are two options here. You could click “Add New Account” and sign in to a different YouTube account. However, you could also use “Guest Mode” if you want to switch accounts without signing into another account. 

Conclusion

If you want to disconnect your YouTube account from a TV or streaming media player, you need to sign out or remove your account. You can do this remotely or on the TV where the YouTube app is installed. By disconnecting your YouTube account from the TV, you can prevent people from accessing your account or data.

Sources: 

https://tv.youtube.com/learn/devices/

https://support.google.com/youtube/answer/7640706?hl=en

https://support.google.com/youtube/answer/7612539?hl=en

https://support.google.com/accounts/answer/3067630?hl=en